Ellen Mae Franklin

The-Unseen-Promise-CoverElle Mae Franklin

is an author with GMTA (Great Minds Think Aloud) Publishing

She is also the author of the just released novel, The Unseen Promise

I Interviewed her to get to know about her and her upcoming projects:

David R Bennett: Elle Mae Franklin is that your real name? Or a pen name? (if so, why?)
Elle Mae Franklin: My name is Carol Bond, but I have chosen as an Author to write under the
pseudonym – Ellen Mae Franklin.
This was a simple choice for me to make, for the family name of Bond is not
mine, but my children’s father. If I were to write under my maiden name it would
still not be associate to name others know me by – Carol Bond, so I came to the
conclusion that my only course of action was to find a pen name. Therefore, I chose
to use the middle names of my three children, eldest to youngest. My books, as I
write them will be under the pen name of Ellen Mae Franklin.

DRB: Tell the readers a bit about yourself.
EMF: I was born in Adelaide, South Australia, Australia, and have spent 51 years
residing there. I have been lucky enough to have seen some of the world and believe
with all my heart that Australia is indeed a great place to live.
I have 3 adult children and a very support man in my life that motivates me to
push ever harder as I endeavor to chase the dream. I work part time as a Field
Merchandiser for Sony/Universal Pictures.
I have recently released my first book, titled The Unseen Promise. It is Epic Fantasy
and the first book from the Tarkeenia Sagas. I am currently working on the sequel –
It’s not the Bite that kills you.

DRB: How long have you been writing?
EMF: I never had any intentions of writing, but now that I am, it has become clear
to me that I will continue sharing the word with love and gusto. I began an idea 15
years ago and from its initial concept, I have been writing on a serious level for the
past 3 years.

DRB: What genre do you write?
EMF: The world I inhabit and one that I am most comfortable with is Epic Fantasy.
It offers my imagination an endless sense of freedom. I tend to lean towards the
darker side of things and I love pondering over scenario’s that may either hook the
reader or to that of finding a situation in the storyline, where I can procure a twist.
Lately, I have found a certain amount of satisfaction in writing short stories, and the
discipline of having to use a short amount of words to summarize a complete story,
is good for me.
DRB: What genre do you personally read?
EMF: My genre is naturally Fantasy. Though I am sometimes tempted to read
books that have fiction wrapped around factual history. In the end though I always
come home to the imaginings of other worlds.
DRB: Who’s your favorite author, right now?
EMF: My favourite Author is a very hard question. I have many that I read and
admire.Mr. Joe Abercrombie is my current favourite, his approach to fantasy is new and I
believe a break through in the genre. Violent, dark and explicit, his stories are not
only in your face, but as a writer, he has the natural gift to offer up the personalities
of his characters in a very human and often, shocking manner. I do believe, he
understands the nature of the beast and tells it as he sees it.
I will have to mention, George R.R. Martin and his epic tales of – A song of Ice and
Fire.

DRB: What challenges do you face when writing? I find, myself, that my other characters want me to give them attention when I’m writing.

EMF: I write as though I am watching a movie never seen before. I am very careful
about the framework of that story, and find that I do not suffer any difficulties of this
side of the writing process. I work with many characters and their personalities,
including their intrinsic habits and any relevant views that they may need for the
storyline. I don’t have characters lining up to override those that I am working on, everyone
knows his or her place.

DRB: What was the inspiration for your book?

EMF: I can honestly say, I do not have an answer for this question. There was no
inspiration that motivated me to write my book. It was simply there, in its basic
form in the very beginning and it wasn’t until I began to actually put words on a
page that it evolved into its current epic state.
DRB:Is there any message in the book you want your readers to know about?
EMF: Yes there is. A few things, I hope will be picked up by the reader. The
fundamental fact, that there is good and bad in all of us. We are capable of acting at
the end of both scales when faced with difference choices. Most of all, I hope that my
message – Curiosity is can be ones undoing. The phrases – ‘Curiosity killed the cat’
and ‘How will you never know if you don’t look,’ could ultimately have you making a
bad choice, get you hurt or worse, killed.

DRB: What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

EMF: Careful planning for your storyline and even your characters, if they are not foremost in your mind when writing. Stop what you’re doing, go for a walk or a swim and empty your mind. It will come. Understand the complexity of where they sit in the timeline of your story and that of human nature. Don’t push yourself just to write down thousands of word a day. I do not believe that this is the way: every word is precious in creating a well-written and vivid tale. If you don’t feel like writing that is fine, do something else and it will come. I personally did not wish to put 90% of my time into self-promoting and marketing. The act of writing is will always my true focus. I looked around for a publisher to take on the ownership of this side of the writing process for me. For me, I was happy with a small Indie Publisher, new in the making who is as motivated as myself in wanting to see my book a success.

DRB: What’s next on your plate?
EMF: My involvement within group activities on Facebook, has led to making some
wonderful friends and connections, in my endeavor to understand social media and
the benefits of networking/marketing. My time, outside of writing is filled with
booking and hosting Author Interviews.
I am working in a partnership with a friend from the UK, as we play tag team,
writing chapters back to back. Developing a complex fantasy tale is on our agenda
and I am very pleased by what we have accomplished.
I have also co-founded and am currently writing with an Aussie group of writers, as
we submit our short stories for Australian Anthologies.
I have found a certain peace in the corner of my world with writing and am pleased
to say, that with a lot of effort, satisfaction will be sure to follow.

Leave a Reply

