PS Bartlett

PS Bartlett

PS Bartlett

 

PS Bartlett

is an author from GMTA Publishing
and just released her first novel, Fireflies
David R Bennett: PS Bartlett  is that your real name? Or a pen name? (if so, why?)
PS Bartlett: PS Bartlett is my pen name. The reason I decided to use it is because when I was a child, whenever I wrote or drew or painted anything, I would always sign it that way. It also helps that it’s pretty easy for people to remember.
DRB:  Tell the readers a bit about yourself.
PSB: I’m an extremely busy woman. I work full time as an office manager, I’m a wife, a mother of three and a grandmother of one beautiful little girl who is almost three. I’m also an artist so when I have time, I love to draw and paint. I still have a seventeen year old at home so cooking, cleaning and being a Mom is still a full time job as well. I have some wonderful friends who are also family and extended family and I enjoy our time together. I love to read but I also enjoy a good movie and a select few television shows as well. My number one priority has always been my family. My dream is to be able to quit my day job and be a full time writer. I’m normally as fearless as a lion but I’ll admit, putting myself out here in front of the world is scary as hell.
DRB: How long have you been writing?
PSB: I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. Poetry and short stories were always my favorite as a child and I enjoyed doing all of my own illustrations as well.
DRB: What genre do you write?
PSB: Since I’ve just finished my first novel and it is historical fiction with a paranormal twist, I could say that is

Fireflies Blog Tour

Fireflies Blog Tour

what I write. However, I’m almost half way through my second novel and this one is completely different and will most likely be categorized as Fantasy/Commercial fiction. My answer I suppose

for now is, I write fiction.
DRB: What genre do you personally read?
PSB: I read everything from biographies to romance. If something interests me I read it and almost everything is interesting to me.
DRB: Who’s your favorite author, right now?
PSB: That is a difficult question because I’ve been writing almost continuously for 6 months and haven’t really taken the time off to enjoy the works of any new authors. I have at least ten new books downloaded on my Kindle and have barely touched them. I’m looking forward to my vacation so that I can finally catch up. May I answer you in June? 🙂
DRB: What challenges do you face when writing? I find that, myself, that my other characters want their attention when writing.
PSB: When I can find complete peace and quiet and a few hours to dive into my writing, the only challenge I find is when my characters seem to want to go on and on about themselves. I get so caught up in wanting to define who they are that I have to force myself to hold back and allow their true personalities to emerge gradually and not all at once in the first chapter. My biggest challenges are external; just finding time alone to write.
DRB: What was the inspiration for your book?
PSB: I was interested in the area where my mother grew up and have always wanted to explore the whole immigration process. She would go on and on about how wonderful that part of the country is and how simple life was. I had originally outlined the story to take place in the here and now but then found myself being pulled back to another place and time and it was there that the story seemed to fit perfectly.
DRB: Is there any message in the book you want your readers to know about?
PSB: I’d rather let them read it and whatever message they take away from the story is fine with me.
DRB: What advice do you have for aspiring writers?
PSB: I know it’s been said thousands of times but it is so true that you should write what you know and if you don’t know, research. The only other thing I would advise is that it doesn’t matter how old you are, it’s never too late to follow your dream.
DRB: What’s next on your plate?
PSB: Finishing the novel I am currently working on is very important but what is on my plate currently is promoting the launch of “Fireflies” and trying to be a successful writer, so that when my new book comes out, I may actually have some readers who are looking forward to it. Either way, I’m doing something that makes me happy and allows me to be creative and express myself. Success, however is relative to how you define it. I define it as completeing a project that I’ve always longed to do and seeing it to fruition. Holding my first novel in my hands will be my own personal triumph, no matter how it all turns out.
3 thoughts on “PS Bartlett

Leave a Reply

