Stephen C Ormsby

Today, I’m here with Stephen C Ormsby who is promoting his new book, Pendant

Stephen C

David R Bennett:   Stephen C Ormsby  is that your real name? Or a pen name? (if so, why?)

Stephen C Ormsby: Stephen C. Ormsby is my pen name and I go by Stephen Ormsby, though the C. does belong to my middle name.

DRB: Tell the readers a bit about yourself.

SCO: During a 20 year career in IT, I had written whether it was some short stories or novels, but I have always done it.  Recently, I found a script for a Claymation piece I did in high school.  I haven’t got the courage yet to read it!  I like looking over all the little bits I’ve written when I’m starting a new book.  There is always some snippet within them that adds that new element I haven’t considered, which keeps the writing interesting for me.

DRB: How long have you been writing?

SCO: It seems since I was a young tacker.  If I work on the basis of that first script, it is close to thirty years, but I claim twenty years as that was the first earnest start at a real novel.  Having the chance to write full time now feels as though I’m writing years of backed-up work in such a small space.

DRB: What genre do you write?

SCO: Mmmm.  Great question.  If you find out, can you tell me?  I thought it was soft science fiction, but now I have a horror novel coming out on April 5 and a fantasy novel just completed.  Now I’ve gone back to writing a sequel for Long Lost Song, which is urban fantasy with apocalyptic and supernatural elements.

The short answer – no idea!

DRB: What genre do you personally read?

SCO: I suppose this answer will explain some of the above answer.  I read science fiction, fantasy, mystery, thriller, graphic novels and sometimes multiple books covering all those genres.  It may explain why no idea of mine wants to fit in just one genre.  There are just too many authors out there to limit yourself to just one genre.

DRB: Who’s your favorite author, right now?

SCO: Having just finished editing, I find it hard to read.  It takes time for me to take off the editing glasses.  Right now, my favourite author would be Jack Dann and some of his older books.

DRB:  What challenges do you face when writing? I find that, myself, my other characters want my attention when in the midst writing.

SCO: The horror series protagonist rides me, infects me, drives me nuts.  He turns me into such an awful person for the time I’m writing him that it makes me wonder why I would want to TUDHBTwrite the next books.  Inasmuch, I wrote Pendent (the upcoming horror novel) in 22 days for the first draft.  The intensity of him makes me write quickly, though I’m not a slow writer anyway.  But, with writing, you don’t always get the choice.

DRB: What was the inspiration for your book?

SCO: I’m going to mention the sequel to Long Lost Song here, as I’m working on three different projects currently.  Long Lost Song is my first published novel and means a lot to me.  When my wife read a piece of it to me in the car once, I asked her who wrote it?  Boy, did I get a strange look for that.

The reason I asked is that ideas were popping into my head almost immediately.  I could feel the characters talking to me just from a couple of paragraphs.  The wonderful thing is I will also be able to expand on some reader feedback with the next.  For a book I never considered as more than one book, the structure of the new story come very easily to me.

DRB:  Is there any message in the book you want your readers to know about?

SCO: Long Lost Song is a warning about believing in the false gods put in front of us – the major one being money.  Money is not the end and be all of everything.  That, and do not be a sheep.

DRB:  What advice do you have for aspiring writers?

SCO: Always write and always try to get better at writing.  Listen to the right people if they are willing to help.

DRB: What’s next on your plate?

SCO: I have Pendant:  The Undead Hunters Book 1 coming out on April 5.

Long Lost Song is being reprinted by my new publisher on May 30 (I think).

Tales of Terra Australia Book 1, which I contributed and edited, will be released on August 30.  Book 2 will follow shortly after.

Then there are the two novels I have just started, which are New Born Soul, the sequel to Long Lost Song and Book 1 of the Circles of Hell trilogy (which will be called Books 2, 3 and 4) set in The Undead Hunters world.

I think that’s enough for now!

Thanks for the opportunity David, and I hope your book does very well.

Stephen C. Ormsby

Author of Long Lost Song

Blog:  http://IdeasCaptured.com/blog

Twitter:  @IdeasCaptured

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/quietnoise

//

Leave a Reply

