C Michael Powers

 

is an author from GMTA Publishing is re-releasing his novel Mirror Images

David R Bennett: C. Michael Powers is that your real name? Or a pen name? (if so, why?)

C. Michael Powers: My real name is Christopher Powers. Michael is my middle name. I started using C. Michael Powers because my mother-in-law, for some reason, gets a kick out of calling me Michael. When I was designing my book cover, I decided to Google my name and it turns out there are a ton of people out there with the name Christopher Powers (from dentists to doctors to male prostitutes). How could I compete with that? I typed in C. Michael Powers and came up with nothing. It just kind of stuck. I use Christopher Powers when I’m writing about Panama and other non fiction articles and stories (or when I want to pull a tooth, cure someone, or pimp myself out).

 

DRB: Tell the readers a bit about yourself.

CMP: I was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma and grew up a country boy. Having divorced parents is what whisked me into the whirlwind of cross-country travel. I moved back and forth, from one state to the other, until finally settling down in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. A trip back to Oklahoma, when I was about 16, is what lead to my writing. My dad was out fishing with one of my brothers on Grand Lake in Grove, Oklahoma. I decided to stay behind that day and watch TV with Grandpa. When Grandpa’s snoring drowned out the sound of the movie we were watching, I decided to take a stab at the old typewriter I’d seen on his bedroom desk. Once I started writing, I never stopped. I punched out a few chapters of my first book on that old machine. Thank God I didn’t go fishing.

DRB: How long have you been writing?
CMP: Since that old typewriter when I was 16. That would mean I’ve been writing about 18 years now. After that vacation to Oklahoma, I started handwriting novels. For anyone who doesn’t own a computer, that’s the solution. For many many years I wrote everything down in notebooks. It got to the point that my wife finally said, “That’s it. I can’t take it anymore. Get rid of these notebooks.” Having a notebook and a pen around means that you never have an excuse not to write.
DRB: What genre do you write?
CMP: That’s a tough question to answer. Right now my focus is on the dark fantasy/action horror genre (does that even exist?). I’ve dabbled in all kinds of genres though from a romantic comedy screenplay to short horror stories. It depends on the mood I’m in and what song is playing. I’ve gotten tons of novel and screenplay ideas from music. Hell, I’ve even written a musical screenplay. Oh and a line of children’s stories.
DRB: What genre do you personally read?
CMP: I’ve been trying to find books in my genre, but it’s difficult. I love the George R.R. Martin books in the Game of Thrones series (Song of Ice and Fire). However, I’m not really a regular fantasy kind of guy. I like the Lord of the Rings movies, but I don’t usually read that kind of fantasy. Same with horror. I love Bentley Little, but I can’t get through most horror novels. One of my favorite books is Battle Royale, which of course will lead to the discussion, which is better, Battle Royale or Hunger Games. I like any book in any genre that keeps the action moving.
DRB: Who’s your favorite author, right now?
CMP: I have two favorite authors. I already mentioned George R.R. Martin. I don’t know if character development gets any better than what that guy has done. I’ve learned a lot just reading his books. As far as pure enjoyment goes, I’m a huge Stephen Hunter fan. Something about a bad ass redneck getting revenge just quenches my thirst. I love it. I love all of the Swagger novels. If you’ve never read a Stephen Hunter book, do yourself a favor and pick one up.
DRB: What challenges do you face when writing? I find that, myself, that my other characters want their attention when writing.
CMP: I think my biggest challenge is trying to stay focused on one idea. I don’t suffer from writer’s block. I suffer from writer’s bombardment. It’s nuts. I’ll be really into one idea, and then I’ll get a crazy idea for another, and suddenly I’m just itching to start working on a totally different story line. I feel like my mind is a great big rottweiler and I’m constantly struggling to hold it back on the leash.
DRB: What was the inspiration for your book?
CMP: I think the idea first came to me when I was watching a prison movie. Actually, I think I was watching the TV show, Oz. I started thinking, what if all of the people in prison who claim to be innocent, really were? What if there was a violent doppleganger of sorts who did the dirty deed and left these dudes rotting away in prison, guilty as can be? Then, I thought, what if that doppleganger was the reflection in the mirror, just dying to break free from his/her world and come into ours where they can do what they do best, kill or cause destruction?
DRB: Is there any message in the book you want your readers to know about?
CMP: I think overall, after all of the books in the series have come out, there might be a message relayed, but I try not to deal with messages. I just want to produce a kick ass joyride where people can lose themselves in the action and excitement going on.
DRB: What advice do you have for aspiring writers?
CMP: Just write. If you’re always thinking about what you’re going to write and how you’re going to get published, you’ll never get it started and therefore, will never get it done. Just do it. Things have changed. Back in the day, you really had to be super lucky to break into one of the top publishing houses. Really, you still do. However, you don’t have to worry about those big publishing houses. Just write and then self publish or go through one of the smaller publishing houses. If nothing else, just write the book. You’ll feel an overwhelming sense of accomplishment when you reach the last page and you say to yourself, “The End.”
DRB: What’s next on your plate?
CMP: Ha. Like I said, I have a hard time holding back that rottweiler. I’m working on book 2 of the Mirror Images stories, but also working on two other books, in the same kick ass dark fantasy genre, but different from Mirror Images. I’m crazy excited about all of this. I’ve just got so much to put down on virtual ink and real paper. I can’t wait.
That was C Michael Powers. Check out his novel, Mirror Images, due out April 15th from GMTA Publishing

Check out his new site at
cmichaelpowers.com

See you on the flipside of the screen – DRB
Leave a Reply

