Book Review: Within the Shadows by Julieanne Lynch

Within the Shadows

 

Living on the razors edge, Giselle Bergman’s life is torn apart by her cheating boyfriend. Little does she realise that he is the least of her worries when her long term friend Alex reveals a secret long hidden, and introduces her to his family and a new, darker world; a world of lies, deceit and corruption.

Thrown from one problem straight into another, the razors edge gets thinner and sharper, testing Giselle’s sanity and vitality. Never truly knowing who her allies are, Giselle soon learns not to trust anyone, even herself.

How far will Giselle run to escape what fate has dealt her?

Will she ever truly be free from the shadows that not only want her soul, but have her reborn as their Queen?

Join Giselle on a journey that is only beginning…

Not even she can hide when living within the shadows.

 

book excerpt

 

Chapter 1

I felt his eyes on me before I returned the look. He knew what I was thinking, and, like always, he knew the right way to cheer me up. Best friends were like that, and Alex was, without a doubt, my knight-in-shining armour. He was like my shadow, and the last six years proved to me just how dependable he had become.

“We need sugar, and lots of it!” he practically shouted, pulling into the lot.

“But we’ll be late for school! I can not have another detention, Alex, and besides, I need to see  Marc before class,” I sighed.

“Well, Marc can wait. Strawberry glaze or chocolate sprinkles?” he asked as he got out of the car.

Alex winked at me, and I giggled like a little girl as I followed him.

“One of each,” I said. “It’s a Monday. I need me some sugar.”

Grabbing hold of his arm, I held onto him, and ignored the sneering looks from a group of girls leaving the cafe.

“Still slumming it, I see, Alex. Call me when you man up,” the local slut hollered as she walked across the lot with her minions in tow.

I ignored them and their taunts, and walked inside, escaping to our favourite table. “Bitches,” I scowled, looking out the window. “Who does she think she is?” My face reddened with anger.

“Ignore her, G. She’s harmless.”

“Why are you always defending her?” My voice was now an octave above a whisper.

Grabbing the menu from me, he threw it onto the table. “Look at me . . . They can say whatever they want. They can make as many comments, and it won’t change a thing. You’re my friend, Giselle. And besides, you look way better than them.”

Laughing, I looked back outside, and watched Evie with her perfect body driving off in her perfect car as I felt sick inside.

“Marc seems to think she’s great.” My voice cracked as I watched her drive off.

“Marc’s an ass,” Alex said as he looked over the menu, pouting his lips at whatever he fancied. He did that when something appealed to him.

“Alex!”

“Well, think about it. He’s dating you, and yet he has time for said ‘bitches.’ Give me a break. If you were my girlfriend, and this is just hypothetical, I wouldn’t let you out of sight, or give those asses reason to pick on you, but that’s just from my viewpoint. Now, let’s order. I’m starving.”

The small bistro was buzzing with customers. The delicious scent of freshly made coffee filled the air. It woke up my taste buds. Its bright and bold colours hurt my eyes. Shades of orange, lime green, and sunbeam yellow had been painted abstractly on the walls, reminding me of summer. Even the ceiling reminded me of the ocean with its cool shades of baby blue. Somehow, it had become a place of comfort to me. The people reminded me that I belonged here, and, like always, Marion was the first to come welcome us and take our order.

“Morning, you two. The usual?” she asked. Turning to face me, she smiled, and her voice softened. “How is your mother, Giselle?”

“Hi, Marion, um, yeah, the usual, but can I have a side order of arsenic to go?” I laughed. “Um, Mom is good, thanks.”

“That’s great, sweetheart. Give her my love.” Laughing, she walked back towards the counter, shaking her head.

Alex sat forward, his brilliant green eyes staring hard into mine. “Arsenic?”

“Well, it was either that or crushed glass.”

We both burst out laughing, grabbing the attention of the people at the table next to us. We were like two naughty school children. Giggling as we ate, we didn’t care who scowled at us. It was just Alex and I, in our own world, and nothing was going to break that bond . . . ever!

review

When I first started reading this novel I had my doubts about how good it was going to be. But the more I read, the further I sucked into the plight of Gabrielle Bergman. J.A. Lynch weaves this tale so well that at points it is hard to tell the good guys from the bad guys.

All her characters have complexities and selfish needs. Furthermore, Giselle herself is caught right in the middle of everything. She is completely and utterly confused on what is up and what is down. she doesn’t know who to trust, but she quickly finds out who NOT to trust.

This book does not remotely fit with the Twilight crowd. But if you love traditional vampire fiction, then, you will love Within the Shadows. The vampires in this book more closely resemble Bram Stoker and Anne Rice’s versions than the sparkled ones of Stephanie Meyer.

 

I highly recommend this book for all Vampire Fanatics!

 

 

meet the author

Shy and reserved Julieanne Lynch is an author of urban fantasy books for both adults and teens. Julieanne lives in Northern Ireland, with her husband and five children, where she works on her Shadows World novels and other series full-time. Before becoming a writer, she considered a few different career paths, a rock star being one of them. She studied English Literature and Creative Writing at The Open University, and considered journalism as a career path. However, she decided writing was the way for her and is thankful for each day she lives her dream.

An avid reader, Julieanne has always had an encompassing fascination with folklore. When not writing, she enjoys crime series such as Criminal Minds, CSI, NCIS and Cold Case, and loves anything with Vampires, listening to metal, meeting new people, drinking lots of green tea, and sharing her dreams with her children. She is a self-professed goth wanna-be,and is happy when left to write into the early hours of the morning.

Julieanne’s YA series, the Shadow World novels, so far contains Within the Shadows & Escaping Shadows, the third installment, Fighting Shadows is being written. It follows the war between vampires and shadow creatures. Giselle Bergman, an 18-year old human girl, falls victim to a scheme by one of her closest childhood friends, and embarks on a journey that sees her become the center of a battle between good and evil.

Julieanne also writes under the pen name: J.A. Lynch

Leave a Reply

