Interview with T.G.Ayer

image

We are here today with TG Ayer who has just released her latest book called DarkWorld.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born in Durban, South Africa, we moved around a lot when I was young so it was hard to make and keep friends- it was good that I loved reading because that was my escape.
I have two daughters, 15 & 18, who are the first to vet my books – they are harder on me than you’d expect lol.

2. What is the inspiration behind DarkWorld?
It all started just with the idea for Kailin’s character. The scene where she discovers the skinned corpse was what first popped into my mind. The world of the DarkWorld just grew around her story – and continues to grow!

3. What is the next project you are working on?
My next project is the last instalment if the Valkyrie series DEAD SILENCE.

4. What is your reason for writing paranormal?
The reason for paranormal: we all love the fantastical, and its long been my favourite in books or in movies. And as for strong female leads: I don’t care for damsels in distress. It’s all very well reading novels in which women get saved by the amazing, gorgeous intelligent guy, but I think its high time we looked for more take-charge leads. and you can keep Princess Leia & Buttercup? No thanks.  Give me Xena and Buffy any day.;)

5. Who are some of your all time favorite authors?
Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Tess Gerittsen, Anne Rice

6. If you could have lunch with any author dead or alive, who would it be and why?
Stephen King – he’s a no-nonsense writer. Just gets down and does it. I’d probably ask him about discipline and how he keeps at it even when the going gets rocky.

7. Who would you love to collaborate with on a project?
Authors Cameo Renae and Mary Ting because we all have Angels on the brain 😉

8. What is something that the readers do not know about you?
My secret reading passion is Historical Romance 😉

9. What would you tell aspiring authors?
If writing is your dream then go for it. But always remember that nothing is ever achieved without hard work. And a writing careers is not easy. You’ve got to need it like you need oxygen!

10. What type of regimen do you have when you write?
I try to spend my mornings writing – I usually aim for 5k a day if I’m actively writing a book. After lunch I spend a couple hours doing something else – either edits or storyboards for something else. Then I get back to writing if I haven’t reached my daily goal. I write full time so I don’t allow myself to make excuses. I usually chat with my PA once a day where she reminds me to send things, do interviews, agrees on dates for tours and reveals etc. As per DH’s rule, I have weekends off (but I do some work and get off on a technicality- he plays golf so golf time is my worktime). The only time I break the no work on weekend law is when I’m editing a book pre-release. Then the release deadline takes precedence, like it or lump it. 😉

Leave a Reply

