Interview with Brien O’Raighne

Brien O’Raighne is the author of the Stashot Chronicles series of novels. The first book of the series is Royal Pains. We caught up with Brien to talk with him about Royal Pains.

 

Brien O'RaighneTell us a little about yourself for the readers.

I am an author from Houston, Texas. I am the author of the Starshot Chronicles series.

What is Royal Pains about?

Royal Pains is about the journey of Douglas Harley as he learns about who he is in the universe.

What was the inspiration for Royal Pains?

The inspiration for Royal Pains. I never really thought about it before. I was inspired by different Sci-Fi epic stories such as Star Wars and Star Trek.

What genre do you like to write?

Sci-Fi. Space Epic Sagas, specifically

What genre do you like to read?

I read a lot of different genres from Paranormal, Mystery, Suspense, Sci-Fi, Fantasy

Who are some authors who have inspired you?

This list is long. Some of the authors who influenced my include Chris Claremont, JK Rowling, Stephanie Meyer, Cassandra Clare, JRR Tolkien, George Lucas, Timothy Zahn, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Roald Dahl amongst others.

If you could dine with a famous author alive or dead who would it be? Why?

Timothy Zahn. I first read his work with Heir to the Empire back in 1993. I’d like to find out how he writes and what he does to make himself so well liked.

What do you do to combat writer’s block?

I hardly ever deal with this. There are so many stories floating around in my head. I more or less have to force myself to concentrate on what I am working on at the moment instead of trying to work on a bunch of projects at the same time.

What advice to you have to aspiring authors?

Write, Write, Write. Don’t worry about being perfect. That’s what editors are for. Just write that story that is begging to get out. The more you write the easier the process will become and the better your writing will become.

What is your next project?

I have finished Royal Legacy (Starshot Chronicles Book 3). However, I need to type it up. Royal Ties goes on presale today at Amazon.com. I am working on a companion novel for NaNoWriMo called I, Ronin. The main character from I, Ronin is going to become a fixture in the stories.

Any fun facts about you that we do not know?

I am a little crazy. Also, I am a huge sports fan. My favorite teams are from Houston.

List your top ten memorable books.

  1. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
  2. Heir to the Empire by Timothy Zahn
  3. Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Beverly Cleary
  4. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
  5. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
  6. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Susanne Collins
  7. Complete Works of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  8. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling
  9. Charlotte’s Web by EB White
  10. Odyssey by Homer

Who is your favorite character you have written?

Hmm. Very difficult. But I’d have to say Starragaar Rellagaari (Royal Ties is where she first appears).

Who is your least favorite character you have written?

Jason Stolidar / Orion Cathol. The guy just comes off to me as a pretentious jerk. Although, he is Douglas’ birthfather. Jason just seems to care very little about his own children and more about himself.

What is your style of writing (free flowing, planned, mixture)?

Free flowing. I have a few points I like to get to in my stories. I have a blurb that the story is about. The plot points are usually contained within. Then, I write and get something completely different than originally intended,

What music do you listen to when you write?

Whatever is playing on my computer at the time.

What is your routine when you write?

I write when the mood strikes or when the muse allows me. But I can write anywhere. I use my phone to jot down notes if I don’t have a spiral with me.

How do you combat distractions when writing?

I put on my earphones and listen to music and let the story flow.

Where can we find Royal Pains?

Amazon Kindle store

Createspace.com and Barnes and Noble .com in paperback

Where can we connect with you?

You can connect with me on Facebook at http://facebook.com/AuthorBrienORaighne , on Twitter at http://twitter.com/BrienORaighne , on Instagram at http://instagram.com/brienoraighne , on Pinterest at http://pinterest.com/brienoraighne , or at my website http://brienoraighne.com

2 thoughts on “Interview with Brien O’Raighne

Leave a Reply

