Interview with Eileen Schuh Pt 1

This is the first part of the interview with Eileen Schuh. Part two will be on Friday.

 

Eileen SchuhTell us a little about yourself for the readers.

I wanted to write novels since I learned to read back before I started school. It took me half a century of living before that dream came true. At an age where most people have accomplished their dreams and are plotting retirement, I’m just gearing up for the career of my dreams. I’m very proud to now have six books to my credit, two adult sci-fis and three in my gritty teen fiction series, plus a school edition of my debut novel,“The Traz”.

What is (your book) about?

My most recent release is Dispassionate Lies, a near-future novella for adults that is set in the year 2035. The world is recovering from the economic chaos caused by criminals destroying the World Wide Web. The young woman tasked with restoring a tamper-proof internet is seeking the truth behind the affliction faced by her generation of females, born sterile and without libido. That truth may have been forever lost in the cyberspace crash.

What was the inspiration for (book)?

News headlines inspired my book, everything from the cyber crises involving Assange’s wikileaks and Snowden, to pharmacological pollution in our waters affecting the sexuality of fish. In fact, I added a section at the back of the books with links to the headlines that inspired me.

What genre do you like to write?

Although I write cross-genres and have been published in both contemporary Young Adult and in adult Science Fiction, all my novels contain strong elements of crime and are often marketed as psychological thrillers. I especially enjoy writing novels with surprising, but strong and rational endings.

What genre do you like to read?

I enjoy reading True Crime. Ann Rule is my fave author.

Who are some authors who have inspired you?

For many years, Canadian author and publisher, Cheryl Kaye Tardif, mentored and encouraged me. Her international writing successes are an inspiration. When the time was right, she also became one of my publishers—now that’s a great mentor!

If you could dine with a famous author alive or dead who would it be? Why?

I’d love to dine with Mark Twain. He was so witty and had much to say about being an author. He was also self-published.

What do you do to combat writer’s block?

I waited so many decades to write, I’m full to the brim with stories I want to tell and seldom experience writer’s block. Sometimes I feel “not in the mood” but all I have to do is starting reading my work in progress and pretty soon I’m editing it, doing revisions, writing…

What advice to you have to aspiring authors?

Sometimes those who feel strongly that writing is their calling find ‘real life’ a burden and relationships, obstacles. I advise all people in all professions to immerse themselves totally in the life they are presently in, milk it for all it’s worth, enjoy every second, create memorable moments with those you love—the writing can wait.

What is your next project?

I have a few projects on the go. I’m trying something new, a paranormal novelette, to meet the submission requirements of Imajin Qwickies, a new imprint of Imajin Books (who published the first two novels in my YA BackTracker series). That novel is at the final editing stage. I’m also working on an adult crime novel and in the background, in draft form on my hard drive, is the next book in my YA series.

Leave a Reply

