Interview with Eileen Schuh Part 2

Part two of the Interview with Eileen Schuh

Eileen SchuhAny fun facts about you that we do not know?

  • I can do the Tree Pose in yoga
  • Years ago, I won the prestigious Governor General’s Medal.
  • I have four grandbabies.
  • I live in a house with an indoor garden and fish pond.

List your top ten memorable books.

I’m much too old to remember ten, but as a child I loved the Little House on the Prairie books (Laura Ingalls Wilder) and the Anne of Green Gables series (Lucy Maud Montgomery). I enjoyed Gone With the Wind (Margaret Mitchell) and as a teen developing a social conscience, I devoured Black Like Me (John Howard Griffin).

Who is your favorite character you have written?

Although my books all have strong female protagonists, it is Shrug, a male police officer in the BackTracker Series who is my favourite. I’m pretty sure he’s going to come a visiting some night and insist I write his story.

Who is your least favorite character you have written?

I love all my characters, which doesn’t mean they are all loveable. Some are nothing other than pure evil. It is that evilness though, that fascinates me. I was a psychiatric nurse in one of my previous careers and the psychopathic mind has always intrigued me. I can’t help but contemplate if a being devoid of a conscience is human? Does it have a soul? Gator, the biker gang leader in The Traz is a psychopath—and very good at what he does.

What is your style of writing (free flowing, planned, mixture)?

My BackTracker series was dictated to me by the characters. I wrote it as one reads it, not knowing what was happening next or what came before. My adult SciFi’s involved a bit more pre-planning and researching. I had a very definite idea of the kind of story I wanted to tell. Still, some embellishments that the muses tossed at me came as a surprise and more than a few twists to the plots were unforeseen.

What music do you listen to when you write?

I don’t listen to music. I like deathly quiet when I write, other than gurgle of the fountain in the fish pond.

What is your routine when you write?

I’m lucky I don’t need a routine; my life allows me that delicious freedom. To be able to write at any time of the day or night for however long I need to, ignites an incredibly powerful surge of creativity.

How do you combat distractions when writing?

I swear at them and keep writing—I’m specifically thinking of the darn Pomeranians who want in and out, in and out, in and…

Where can we find (book)?

All my books are available in both eBook and paperback formats from all fine online book sellers as well as in some bookstores and libraries. If they are not on the shelves of your local book store or library, you can ask to have them ordered in for you. A message or an email to me is all that’s needed to arrange shipment of an autographed copy.

Where can we connect with you?

I am on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/EileenSchuhAuthor

My Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Eileen-Schuh/e/B005C1ZHZU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

I have a website: http://www.eileenschuh.com

I have a blog: http://eileenschuh.blogspot.com

I tweet : https://twitter.com/eileenschuh

Just google my name and you’ll find me!

2 thoughts on “Interview with Eileen Schuh Part 2

Leave a Reply

