Interview with Leisl Kaberry Part 1

This is Part 1 of the interview with Leisl Kaberry. Part 2 will show on Friday.

 

Leisl 086Tell us a little about yourself for the readers.

I’m an Aussie living in beautiful British Columbia, Canada with my husband and our 4 kids. Where I once was close to the ocean; I am now surrounded by mountains. Where I once had the odd snake in the backyard… it’s now the odd bear and where I once drove in the right side of my vehicle on the left side of the road and chanced hitting roo’s on the highway, I now drive in the left, on the right and chance hitting Moose. It’s like I’m in another world. I’m a stay at home mum, which allows me to write as well as work on a degree on Criminology and Criminal Justice. Once upon a time I liked to surf, now I love snowboarding.

What is Titanian Chronicles – Journey of Destiny about?

Journey of Destiny is a Young Adult fantasy adventure that sees three friends, two elves and one human, cross the borders of an all elven kingdom to seek out their destinies in the world beyond. As no-one has left the kingdom since the Human War over twenty years earlier, there is much apprehension as to what lies ahead. Afeclin the human has magic in his veins and knows that for him to be trained he must seek out the Great Zallucien. Wolflang has an adventurous spirit and seeks to break elvish tradition by exploring the world before settling down. Lenna, on the other hand, simply wants nothing more than to wed her childhood sweetheart, Wolflang and instead follows him over the border and into unimaginable troubles. In the meantime, the dark mage seeks to destroy all remaining wizards; making him the most powerful in the land while others undertake the Warlord’s bidding in order to bring war to the Land of Marrapassa.

The first book of the Titanian Chronicles trilogy is a coming of age story where hearts, minds and strengths are put to the test as destinies are unveiled and ethics are challenged.

What was the inspiration for Titanian Chronicles?

There were a couple things that inspired me to write it… at the time I had been reading books like the Dragonlance Chronicles by Margaret Weis and Tracey Hickman and The Belgariad by David Eddings so fantasy worlds were in the forefront of my mind. I loved the adventure I faced in these books as the worlds lured me in. Also a screen saver on the computer of a big green moon reflecting into the water beneath inspired my first scene. I wrote the scene not having any idea where I was headed with it but by the time I had finished, I had the main story of the trilogy mapped out in my head.

What genre do you like to write?

I particularly like writing fantasy. I love the idea that anything can happen and you can allow your imagination to take flight. There is something very fulfilling about being able create other worlds that have a similar feel to our own so that they are comfortable to visit through the words but are still quite different and host different creatures, plant life and people. It also invites other genres to play a part, like romance or mystery, which makes it a very open genre to write in.

What genre do you like to read?

There’s nothing like sinking your teeth into a good mystery and I enjoy a good thriller. I’m a fan of crime (in the written form that is) and I can’t go past a good true story. Of course I also enjoy reading fantasy but really I’m open to almost all genres that have the elements I like. Give me a puzzle to solve, take me on a thrill ride, allow me to enter the psyche of a villain or show me another world and I’m there.

Who are some authors who have inspired you?

Dr Seuss got me to fall in love with books and reading as a child, as did Uderzo and Goscinny with their Asterix comics of which both authors I still collect today. C.S Lewis and Enid Blyton opened my eyes up to the possibilities of other worlds beyond aging old wardrobes and the tops of trees. I love Dan Brown’s style and learnt some good writing skills from reading his books. Agatha Christie first influenced my interest in Criminology. They each inspire me to continue on in my own world; to create and be me.

If you could dine with a famous author alive or dead who would it be? Why?

I think dining with Agatha Christie would be the ultimate. She emerged as a female author at a time when women, traditionally did not have careers and went on to be the best-selling novelist of all time according to Guinness World Records. She wrote mysteries based around the places she lived and visited… ordinary places that became extraordinarily interesting through her unique ability to hook us in with her little clues and charming characters. I think I could learn a lot from her about novel writing.

What do you do to combat writer’s block?

I don’t think I have really ever had writers block per se… I’ve certainly had moments of procrastination and times I was not all that in the mood for writing. At any rate, I find writing, despite these mental obstacles is the only thing to get you past it. It may be slow going at first and few lines emerge of worth but somewhere along the line the brain kicks into gear and churns out the goods. Keep on writing, writing, writing… it’s the only cure.

What advice to you have to aspiring authors?

Do it because you love it. Write what inspires you, in the genre that your story exists. Don’t feel you have to follow a trend or be like anyone else… tell your story in your way… you’re the only one who can… but listen to advice from those who have been around longer and have experience. It is those that have learnt that will help guide you to make your book the best it can be.

What is your next project?

I wouldn’t exactly say I was onto the next project, I’m still on the same project… that being writing the trilogy of Titanian Chronicles. I have finished the second, which sees the story go forward five years and I await cover art so I can publish. Until then I am working on the third.

3 thoughts on “Interview with Leisl Kaberry Part 1

  1. I’ve been waiting for years to read the second one. I’m glad to hear you’ve written it. I can’t wait to read what happens. I LOVED the first one. Miss you xx

Leave a Reply

