Interview with Leisl Kaberry Part 2

This is part 2 of the Interview with Leisl Kaberry.

 

Leisl 086Any fun facts about you that we do not know?

I did almost two years of my schooling from a roadhouse in the desert at the top of Australia. My school was in Port-Hedland, a three hour drive away and so we used the School of the Air service. My lessons with my teacher were done over a two way radio with my class who were kids who were scattered all over the Pilburra (NorthWestern desert area). We would have a half hour radio lesson and the rest was correspondence. Instead of being able to access a library, a big box would be delivered to our house every month or so full of all sorts of books to read. It was like Christmas when it came.

List your top ten memorable books.

The Lost Key – Dan Brown

The Innocent Man – John Grisham

Deception Point – Dan Brown

Stardust – Neil Gaiman

The silence of God – Gale Sears

Dragonlance chronicles

Chronicles of Narnia – Prince Caspian

By the pricking of my thumbs – Agatha Christie

And then there were none – Agatha Christie

The Belgariad David Eddings

Who is your favorite character you have written?

Raan the dwarf. I love writing parts with this grumpy little dwarf who always finds something to complain about. He is strong willed, stubborn as all get out and I don’t think he ever cracks a smile but when push comes to shove he is loyal as they come and strong as an ox… his friends are of utmost importance to him even though he’ll have something to grumble about them all the time. As Typhin points out ‘of course they wont tell you they like you and the only way you know is if they decide to stick to you.’

Who is your least favorite character you have written?

The warlord Moorlan… I wrote him unlikeable and I did a good job because I don’t like him much either. As far as Antagonists go the Warlord is not a main character, he has others like the Dark Mage and his right hand man Nagrin ‘the Nasty’ to do his bidding. The Dark Mage and Nagrin are great characters and have some depth to them but not Moorlan, he is a spoilt prince who never had his chance to be king as he was banished from the land. He cares only for one person and that is himself. I like that he is in the story but I do not like him.

What is your style of writing (free flowing, planned, mixture)?

Bit of a mixture these days, however the first book ‘Journey of Destiny’ was written in a pantser (fly by the seat of your pants) type fashion. I had a plan for the story and I just went with it. My second, which will be out soon, was much more planned. I would plan out each chapter, with a beginning, middle and end, then I would write. Things would still change and grow and develop so there was still a whole lot of free flow going on but it was much more focused.

What music do you listen to when you write?

I cant! I tend to sing along and lose focus on what I’m writing. Although I enjoy thinking about it and plotting it while listening to Eskimo Joe, an Australian band. In fact the first book has a theme song from Eskimo Joe called Setting Sun… I was listening to it so much while contemplating the story between bouts of writing that I found one song in particular fit the book. Now that album is an inspiration to my writing… and always calls to mind my story.

What is your routine when you write?

I probably don’t have the best of routines when I write but I make it work. I generally set aside a couple of hours in the afternoon to write before the kids come home from school when homework and activities become the focus. All four kids are at school now so I am able to sit down to a nice quiet living space and focus. I try not to look at emails during this time… unless it’s important, I don’t touch twitter or other social media either. I just write and munch on some lunch and write some more. To start out I re-read the last thing I wrote to get me back into the mood and feeling of where I was at in the chapter or I read through my notes if I am starting a new chapter and brainstorm a little so I know exactly where I am aiming to end up. Then I just write. It is sometimes slow going with only a sentence at a time coming out but once I get going I struggle to keep my typing fingers up with what’s going on in my head. Wishing I had learnt to type properly in high school… It would come in handy.

How do you combat distractions when writing?

Generally I don’t have any distractions because I’m on my own during the day and try to write only when the kids are out of my hair. Sometimes I take the opportunity to keep working on things after they get home and if that’s the case I will usually focus on editing or re-reading or making plot points which is much easier than trying to write and keep focused on the storyline.

Where can we find (book)?

Amazon.comhttp://www.amazon.com/Titanian-Chronicles-Journey-Destiny-1/dp/1480057878

Barnes and Noble – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/titanian-chronicles-leisl-kaberry/1116836022?ean=9781480057876

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/422214

Where can we connect with you?

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7260568.Leisl_Kaberry

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Lawfabex

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/TitanianChronicles

Blog Page – http://titanianchronicles.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

