Interview with Kasper Beaumont Part 1

This is the first part of an epic interview with Kasper Beaumont. The second part will show Friday.

 

HQ 35

Kasper and a fan dressed as Sienna the Huntress

Tell us a little about yourself for the readers.

I’m a slightly crazy fantasy writer (it helps being a little crazy, trust me) and I’m also a working mum with 3 gorgeous kiddies who are now all at school. I like pina coladas and singing in the rain, as well as fantasy art, movies, watching the tennis and chocolate. I live in Australia and yes we have snakes in the backyard and giant spiders in the house. The best bit is the beautiful beaches and the sub-tropical climate.

 What is (your book) about?

I have written a sword and sorcery trilogy called the Hunters of Reloria series. I have halflings bonded to fairies in a symbiotic relationship which is unique and works well in the books. A pair of halflings and their bond-fairies witness lizardmen invading their lands and go on a quest to warn the elves and protect the powerful Elven Jewel. Experienced fighters join the halflings: dwarves, a knight and a badass dragon and they become the Hunters of Reloria. Later in the series they get a mage as well for some sparkly magical battles. The Halfling – fairy bond is an essential part to the hunters’ success.

It’s heaps of fun for young and old alike and aimed at the young adult audience.

What was the inspiration for (book)?

I think my youngest child was the inspiration for the fairies and my two sons ended up somewhere in the playful halflings and dwarves. I’m a quite a fan of Tolkien and Eddings and quest stories in general.

What genre do you like to write?

Epic fantasy, naturally

What genre do you like to read?

Adventures, paranormal, fantasy and anything with a good storyline. I like a bit of romance in the story, but don’t specifically read romance books.

Who are some authors who have inspired you?

I love a good Clive Cussler adventure novel with its complicated plot twists, so he would be right up there with the fantasy greats like Rowling, Feist, Tolkien and Eddings. Other great authors I enjoy include Shakespeare, Dickens, Austen, Wilbur Smith and Bryce Courtenay. I love meeting authors and learning the craft, so I’ll say William McInnes, Delia Strange and Kia Carrington-Russell locally as well.

If you could dine with a famous author alive or dead who would it be?

Charles Dickens

Why?

I would just love to chat with him about his character development and observations of the world around him. Possibly our dinner would be a little bland based on 21 century tastes, but wouldn’t it be so cool to step back into Victorian England.

What do you do to combat writer’s block?

I honestly haven’t had that trouble as yet. Being a busy working mum, my issue is finding the time to write at all. This year I’m doing a uni course but am still hoping to publish a couple of short stories.

What advice to you have to aspiring authors?

Just do it. Sit down and write whatever comes into your head. Let the words flow and the story will come to you. Also, find yourself a good editor. They’re worth their weight in gold.

What is your next project?

I have a short story called the Tragedy of Garass and Asher which is a prequel to the Hunters of Reloria trilogy and an interesting back story of my favourite character. It’s in the final stage of editing, but I will send it in for a competition, so may not be able to publish it straight away. I am also co-writing with an 11 year old fan about Sienna the Huntress. We’re just in the early stages with that one.

2 thoughts on “Interview with Kasper Beaumont Part 1

Leave a Reply

