Interview with Cheryllynn Dyess Part 1

This is the first part of a magical interview I had with Cheryllynn Dyess. You can check our the second magical ingredient to the full interview on Friday.

CDyess 1

Author Cheryllynn Dyess

Tell us a little about yourself for the readers.

 

About me hmmm, well I was born in Florida and grew up in Southeastern Georgia always loving the outdoors. I think my love of nature comes through in my writing! I worked in the healthcare field for approximately 17 years – hold a BS in Healthcare Administration. I am an Avon Ind. Sls. Rep, yep I’m the Avon Lady! I have three children, one grandbaby, three dogs and several additional children I love as my own.

What is A WITCH’S DREAM WORLD about?

A Witch’s Dream World is about a young woman who wakes up to find her world destroyed (emotionally) by the death of her mother. When her mother dies her idea of what is real is questioned when she begins to dream about “powers” and “abilities”. She later learns she is a powerful witch in a world where fairies, dweorgs, witches and elves live side by side with humans. As a high school senior she struggles with this and the concept that she is the prophesied one who is supposed to save her people.

What was the inspiration for A WITCH’S DREAM WORLD?

Well that is a hard question because I cannot think of any one thing that was the inspiration for this. The story was just there and needed to written.

What genre do you like to write?

Fantasy/ Supernatural / Paranormal

What genre do you like to read?

I enjoy reading many genres but my favorite is Fantasy!

Who are some authors who have inspired you?

Edgar Allen Poe is my all-time favorite author, to me no one can compare. After Poe I would say authors like T.M. Nielsen (The Heku Series) and N.K. Jemisin would be the next in line for inspiration.

If you could dine with a famous author alive or dead who would it be? Why?

Edgar Allen Poe…why, he is the most intense author I have ever read. I would love to just have a casual conversation with him and see if he is truly as awe inspiring as his writing.

What do you do to combat writer’s block?

Clean, crochet, cook, play with my dogs are ways I combat writer’s block or play mind mushing games on Facebook.

What advice to you have to aspiring authors?

Do what you love! If you truly love writing never ever give up. My next step would be to research, research, research!

What is your next project?

I have a book in the editing stage right now, the title is under construction. It is a book about Immortals I can tell you that!

Leave a Reply

