Book Review: Challenge by Montgomery Mahaffey

Challenge - Montgomery Mahaffey

Part 3 of Ella Bandita and the Wanderer

The Wanderer should have known better. Growing up with the Bard’s fireside stories about the predatory seductress Ella Bandita has done nothing to prepare him for meeting her. When he crosses paths with a mysterious vagabond girl in the woods, his loneliness pulls him toward her. But the strange woman spurns his friendship. It should be easy enough to leave her behind. But the Wanderer can’t pull himself away, captive to his stubborn will and the haunting dreams that linger when he wakes up every morning. Drawn in by the legendary allure of Ella Bandita, the Wanderer is caught up in a game of cat and mouse fraught with desire that is only fueled by his neighbor’s disdain. Soon, the words of his grandfather’s warning becomes a fading echo in his ear…always remember, follow your heart. Will the Wanderer resist in time to hear those words, or will he lose the one thing that matters to him most?

review

I was given this book to read by the Author herself. She wanted a review of the book. I told her I would give it a try. Erotica is not really my thing. However, I would not classify this book as full on erotica. I would however classify this book as Adult fiction and dark fantasy.

That being said, overall I found this book hard to put down. I loved the main characters of the Wanderer and Ella Bandita. Both are not shallow two dimensional characters that you may find in some of fantasy novels. No, these characters have depth and back story that want you know more about them.

This is your typical love-hate relationship. He loves her. She hates him. However, Ella still finds it in her heart to love even a sliver of the Wanderer. For Ella, that says a lot. She loathes everyone on the planet except the Wanderer and that includes herself.

The twist that I loved was simple. Love can see through the hate. Even if a person hates what you do or who you are love will find even that small sliver that exists and exploit it. I plan on reading the other books in the future.

4of5

meet the author

I am all about the story.

Thanks so much for stopping by to see what Free Flying Press is all about. My name is Montgomery Mahaffey. I’m aMontgomery Mahaffey writer, a storyteller, and an indie publisher. I think independent publishing is fabulous. What an opportunity! It’s both empowering and challenging to claim the power of offering my stories on my terms, and to get those stories in the hands and (hopefully) in the hearts of readers.

My first goal is to offer stories that will capture your attention, entertain you, and transport you to another world where anything is possible, and destiny can be changed for those who are willing to take the risk. Second, my goal is to present a quality product – books and ebooks comparable to those you would expect from a much larger publisher. I take pride in what I offer. The stunning artwork of BANE illustrates moments from the story; the cover for each novelette ebook and the novel displays a fresh scene.

For the reader who relishes the tactile pleasure of a book, Ella Bandita and the Wanderer is the choice for you. Slightly larger than most paperbacks, and with a velvety cover, this novel feels luscious in hand. It is now available through Amazon!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Challenge by Montgomery Mahaffey

Leave a Reply

