Interview with Ann Snizek

image

Tell the readers about yourself.

Well, I’ve loved books since childhood. Always running away into the pages that fed and freed my imagination. Friends from elementary school recall recess time with me sitting under the playground structure, notebook and pencil in hand, writing my newest escape. Learning is one of my main goals in life. With an infinite stream of information just waiting for us to drink it in, I know that longing will never be fully quenched and I love it. I have many interests and hobbies, but I’d be lost in life if I couldn’t write. It’s part of who I am.

What was the inspiration behind TO ERIS – HUMAN?
I find the unknown fascinating. The desire to escape and disappear as an awkward child reflects somewhat in this book. The feeling of not belonging, fears of loss, rejection, and even the future are commonalities around the world to some extent. I wanted to provide a strong female protagonist that could rise above her troubles and prove to herself that she was more than her past. The play on words for the title show this also.

What is the idea behind the Lucents?
This is a bit tricky to explain as I don’t want to give too much away. For: Giva de Vine, Payton Chronicles 2 will answer many questions about the lucents themselves. What I can tell you is that they have always existed on earth as long as humans. Their physical state has naturally kept them hidden and isolated in many ways. Despite their technological advancements, they are extremely attuned to the planet.

At one point you had the mentioned of The Payton Chronicles being a trilogy. Is it still going to be a trilogy or will there be more than 3 books in the series?
There will be at least 3 books, but there’s a possibility of a 4th. We’ll have to see what the future holds for Eris.

Eris Payton is an interesting character. Who was the inspiration for the character?

Eris is a mix of people. I like to think I draw a lot on my own growth from over the years, but she’s not a biography.

Do the Lucents have any special kind of powers that readers don’t know about?
I wouldn’t say they have any powers that readers don’t know about, but they have knowledge that allows them to use the powers they have on a larger scale. Some of this knowledge will be shared in book 2, but with the countless lifetimes of study the lucent have had, there’s no possible way to contain it all in a single book, much less explain it all to Eris and thus the readers.
Their “magical/paranormal” abilities are based in science. Much like so many things we have today that would not and could not have been understood or fully appreciated by those living in the middle ages or before. Even in colonial times in the United States. No one would have guessed such things as cars, cell phones, laptops, or microwave ovens could possibly exist. And yet we use them on a daily basis.

Can you tell us the fate of Dr. Payton?
Ah… now you’re really digging for secrets. Think of him as a doctor of the fringe sciences. His degrees were focused on genetics, but he wasn’t the most ethical of individuals. His secrets go extremely deep and you’ll have to wait for book 3 (Payton-ly Different) to find out many answers directly related to him. Some may be touched upon in book 2, but book 3 will focus on uncovering secrets.

What author, living or dead, would you want to collaborate with? Why?

Wow! So many choices of wonderful authors. I think for an author that’s already dead, I’d pick Anne McCaffrey. I’ve loved her work for so many years. I’ve not read a single work of hers that I didn’t absolutely love. For a living author I think I’d pick Neil Gaiman. He’s such a marvelous, real person full of diversity and life. I’d love to “make good art” with such an amazing craftsman. Both of these authors are inspirations of mine.

What are you currently working on?

I currently have EIGHT projects I’m writing and 2 more (picture book series) that I’m working with illustrators on. My current project list is: The Sword of Israj (Tunuftol Book 4); For: Giva de Vine (Payton Chronicles 2); Chasing Glass (book 1); Frosted Pony (picture ShortBook); Ice-bot (picture ShortBook); Sassy Kay (YA ShortBook); an adult book under a different pen name (all hush-hush); and one I just started as a collaboration with a new author that hasn’t been titled yet.
This last one will be my first real collaboration as well as my first contemporary adult novel. So, we’ll see how it goes. LOL It’s at the very, very early stages of collecting ideas. You’re actually the first to hear of it since we’ve only started, this month, to seriously discuss writing it.

Ok. One last question. What parting words can you give our readers about your works?
Oh, wow! Perhaps that my stories, no matter the genre or level, are character driven. I want the reader to connect with the characters and feel like they’re part of the story. Live isn’t about one genre. So, my books may focus on one genre, but they touch base and cross or blur lines at times. I want my readers to enjoy the journey as much as I do. I want my readers to find friends and enemies, to feel the emotions and to know that they are just as real as we make them. And I love feedback. If you enjoy my work, please feel free to drop me a line. I’d love to hear from you!

Thank you for having me on your blog. I enjoyed your questions!

You can find Ann Snizek here:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ann-Snizek-author/248824101841473
Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/annsnizek/ LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/pub/ann-snizek/66/b21/aa7
Twitter https://twitter.com/HASnizekM1
Tumblr http://annsnizekworld.tumblr.com/ Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6702687.Ann_Snizek
Snow Flower Enterprises for events, tours, and merchandise. http://www.snowflowerenterprises.com/

Leave a Reply

